Departments

Back to Department Listings


Town Clerk Home Page

Frequently Asked Questions

Forms/Documents

 

Town Clerk: Frequently Asked Questions

Town of Middleborough Town Clerk

Annex Building

20 Centre Street, 1st Floor
Middleborough, MA 02346
508-946-2415
Fax: 508-946-2308

Allison J. Ferreira aferreira@middleborough.com

Frequently Asked Questions:

When is the Town Clerk's Office open to the public?
Monday through Friday 8:45AM – 5:00PM

How do parties apply for a marriage license?

Marriage licenses are issued from any Massachusetts city or town hall.  The marriage license will be on file wherever parties choose to file their intentions in the State of Massachusetts.  The Town of Middleborough charges a fee of $25.00 for a marriage license.  

 

The legal age to marry in Massachusetts is 18 (M.G.L. ch. 207, s. 33A). All people who marry in the state must have a marriage license issued in Massachusetts by any city or town clerk (M.G.L. ch. 207, s. 28).  Proper identification is necessary. You may be required to show a certified birth certificate.

  

Residency Requirement: You do not have to be a resident of Massachusetts.

 

Application Requirement: Both parties must appear in person at the time of applying for marriage intentions.

 

• This requirement is applicable to both residents and non-residents of the Commonwealth. According to Massachusetts law, you must jointly file intentions to marry, and you may do so with the city or town clerk in any community in the state. If a person is in the military, intentions may be filed by either party, providing one is a Massachusetts resident. If a person is incarcerated in a county house of correction or a state correctional facility, intentions may be filed by either party.

 

If Divorced: You are not required to present a divorce certificate when filing intentions to marry. However, it is extremely important that an individual who has been divorced be certain that his/her divorce is absolute. If you are uncertain as to the absolute date of your divorce, you should contact the court where the divorce was granted. In Massachusetts, a divorce does not become absolute until 90 days after the divorce nisi has been granted, regardless of the grounds for divorce.

 

Waiting Period: 3 days. Sundays and holidays are included in the three days, but the day the application is made is not. For example, if you apply on Friday, your license will be issued on or after Monday.

 

• Obtaining a Waiver of the Waiting Period: Yes. According to MGL Ch. 207:30, if both parties are residents, or non-residents, or one of each, and they need to dispense with the three days, they may do so by applying to the judge of a probate or district court to have the license issued without delay, after filing intentions with the clerk. Under extraordinary or emergency circumstances, such as if the death of either party is imminent or the female is nearing the end of her pregnancy, an authorized request by a minister or clergyperson or an attending physician shall suffice and the clerk can issue the certificate without delay.

 

Same Sex Marriages: Yes, as of May 17, 2004.

 

Officiants: Ordained ministers of the gospel may perform marriages. Before performing marriages, ministers are required to apply for a certificate from the state. For applications visit the Commonwealth of Massachusetts website. You must file a copy of your ordination certificate and a statement from the church saying that you are in good standing. Ministers must keep records of all marriages they perform. Also, ministers must return a certificate of the marriage to the town clerk or registrar who issued the marriage license and to the town clerk of the town where the marriage was performed.

 

If an out-of-state member of the clergy is to perform the marriage, the clergy person must obtain a Certificate of Authorization from the Massachusetts Secretary of the Commonwealth prior to the ceremony. This certificate, which is issued by the Public Records Division of the Secretary of the Commonwealth, is to be attached to the original license and returned to the clerk of the city or town where the license was issued. For further information, contact:

 

Division of Public Records
Secretary of the Commonwealth
One Ashburton Place, Room 1719
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-2836

 

Officiant for a Day/Solemnization Authority: In Massachusetts, a couple may choose to have a family friend or relative perform their wedding ceremony. In order to become a "Solemnizer" for a day, you must fill out an application from the Massachusetts Secretary of the Commonwealth. The process takes 4-6 weeks to complete.  After completing an application, you will receive a letter from the Secretary of Commonwealth granting permission for the person to perform the wedding ceremony. The letter will give you further instructions to complete the process. There is a $25 fee to apply. For complete details and an application, click here.

 

Notary Publics cannot perform weddings in Massachusetts.

 

Valid: License is valid for 60 days.

 

Witnesses: Witnesses are not required.

How do I obtain a dog license?

The annual dog licensing registration period is by CALENDAR year (January 1st – December 31st).  The Town of Middleborough allows a three month “grace” period to renew dog licenses (January 1st – March 31st).  Dogs licensed after March 31st will be assessed a late fee of $10.00.  The late fee shall be in addition to the license fee. 

 

FEE SCHEDULE

NEW & RENEWAL DOG LICENSE

Male – Unaltered

$15.00

Female – Unaltered

$15.00

Neutered Male

$10.00

Spayed Female

$10.00

Late Fee after April 1st

$10.00

Documentation required to license dog:

Only THREE (3) dogs may be licensed PER HOUSEHOLD.  A KENNEL LICENSE is required for more than three (3) dogs. 

KENNEL LICENSE FEES ARE AS FOLLOWS:


*Household Kennel: 4-5 dogs, 3 months old or older, maintained as household pets on a lot, not maintained for breeding purposes- applications available in the Health Department located on 2nd floor of the Annex Building; inspections conducted by Animal Control, $30.00 kennel fee is paid annually within the Town Clerk's Office.


*Private Kennel:  4-5 dogs, 3 months old or older, maintained as household pets on a lot, maintained for breeding purposes- applications available in Town Clerk's Office; $300.00 fee to apply through Zoning Board of Appeals for approval; inspections conducted by Animal Control, $30.00 kennel fee is paid annually within the Town Clerk's Office.

*Hobby Kennel6-10 dogs, 3 months old or older, are housed, groomed, bred, boarded, trained or sold - applications available in Town Clerk's Office; $600.00 fee to apply through Zoning Board of Appeals for approval; inspections conducted by Animal Control, $60.00 kennel fee is paid annually within the Town Clerk's Office.


*Commercial Kennel:  10 or more dogs, 3 months old or older, are housed, groomed, bred, boarded, trained or sold- applications available in Town Clerk's Office, $900.00 fee to apply through Zoning Board of Appeals for approval, inspections conducted by Animal Control, $150.00 kennel fee is paid annually within the Town Clerk's Office.

Where are the polling locations for voting in the Town of Middleborough?

PRECINCT 1 - OAK POINT CLUB HOUSE, 202 OAK POINT DRIVE

PRECINCTS 2, 4, 6 - MIDDLEBOROUGH HIGH SCHOOL GYMNASIUM, 71 EAST GR0VE STREET (RTE 28)

PRECINCT 3 - SOUTH MIDDLEBOROUGH FIRE STATION, 566 WAREHAM STREET (RTE 28)

PRECINCT 5 - MIDDLEBOROUGH COUNCIL ON AGING, 558 PLYMOUTH STREET